Posted in book review

The Prophesy of Shadows

The Elementals, #1

Michelle Madow

Dreamscape Publishing, Jan 2016

Kindle, 309 Pages

Also available in paperback, audiobook

Genre(s) YA paranormal fantasy, mythological

Source Author’s newsletter

Other books in this series

The Blood of the Hydra #2, The Head of the Medusa #3, The Portal of Kerberos #4, The Hands of Time #5

My Disclaimer:

I was provided a complimentary copy of this book. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.

~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

What it’s about…

Nicole Cassidy doesn’t understand why her whole class list at her new school says “honors” classes. She’s never been in honors classes before. And when she walks into her new homeroom, she gets a bit of a jolt.

“We’re all witches, as are you. And this is a special studies homeroom–it’s for the witches in the school.”

After some class exercises and some experiments on her own, Nicole is finally convinced of at least some of what they’ve told her and starting to make friends. In fact, she’s part of a working circle of five students. Kate, Chris, Blake, and Danielle make up the rest of her circle. They get some interesting results under the night sky at a classroom function at the Professor’s house. This leads to each of them learning which element they relate to and to the discovery and assignment of the fifth element.

Can these young and inexperienced witches solve the prophesy and bring home the Shadows?

Technical Tidbits…

The cover is quite good. The picture is supposed to be Nicole Cassidy, I would say. She is the one who relates to the fifth element, aether.

The story line is interesting. Not all that unusual, a bunch of mismatched students end up getting into something that is a “bit” over their heads. Bonds break, bonds form, maturity, clarity.

The characters were done quite well. By introducing a new student, the author had the chance to also introduce older students to her so that we got to know these characters fairly early on in the story line. We got deeper knowledge of their personalities as events unrolled.

The pace was pretty good. Not super fast, but rolling along so that you had to pay attention so as not to miss things. And there were plenty of things happening.

The tension. Oh yes, there was plenty of tension. Not so noticeable in the quiet times, but during the happening times it was really there.

And this is where you STOP if you don’t want to see any SPOILERS

The good, the bad, and the ugly…and how much it lit up my life… ✰✰✰✰⭒

Going from not even believing in witches to being told she is one and handling energy all in one day is a big step. So, I guess it was not a real surprise that she ended up being so powerful. Possibly no real surprise to any of them that she was a demigod, either. It was a bit of a surprise to me. These things don’t just pop up out of nowhere. Though there was some preparation for it, so I have forgiven Ms. Madow.

I really love the way she created the color system for them to use energy! If you follow me, you know I’m really into colors and color systems. So this really appealed to me. It doesn’t help me channel energy, but it can help a lousy mood if you think about colors the way they channeled them. Yellow will certainly cheer you up. Blue will make you feel like you can really get going. Green will make you want to do things in nature. Red will make you want to take on challenges or deal with confrontations. White can make things seem all crisp and clean. Refreshed. Orange will make you hungry, sorry. And extra color there!

There is so much build up about how fierce Danielle is in protecting her territory, ie Blake. I was rather surprised at how little she actually did to warn Nicole off. The worst she did was use the gray magic against her in her try-out for the tennis team. When that didn’t succeed, she seemed not to really try anything else against her. I really figured that she’d try other things and cause more trouble. Why did she back down? It didn’t seem like Blake was talking to her. He was afraid that doing that would make things worse. And it probably would have. She kept claiming her territory physically when they were all together. But she didn’t take any steps to warn Nicole off in any other way. Girls that age can be pretty nasty and I’d imagine ones with magic at their disposal could really be dangerous. So why didn’t she do anything? I kept waiting for her to do something really nasty early on in the book.

Once they went off on their quest, they worked as a team, they had to. It’s fortunate that Danielle’s water element was first. It made her dedication to the team more solid. Then Chris had to use his air element. Kate had to use her earth element. Finally, Blake had to use his fire element along with Chris’ air element to fight off the enemy. And when Kate was so badly injured, the other three had to trust Nicole not to steal their energy but to channel it to heal Kate. At each turn only the one with that particular element could do the required task. So, only Kate could take the Book of Shadows from its resting place…passing it to Chris to give to the Harpy to save her sister, Becca. But working together again, they defeated the Harpy. Not before the creature gave them one more piece of information. She called Nicole a demigod. So when they were able to get back and discuss things with Darius, the teacher, they decided she must be the child of Apollo. The gold sun charm on the gold chain the appeared on her window sill the next morning sort of clinched that.

This was quite the world the author created. Little witches learning it in school, even though the school doesn’t know. Color-based energy. Demigods, gods. This is a series for young adults, but I may have to read more of it to see what else the author brings in.

Recommended

1081 wc

Advertisements
Posted in book review

Mistletoe Red

Dracula’s Mistletoe, #1

R. Kitt

Self-Pub, Dec 2016

Ebook, 51 Pages

Only available in Digital Format

Genre(s) Paranormal Romance

Source Author

Other books in this series

Mistletoe Black #2

My Disclaimer:

I was provided a complimentary copy of this book. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.

~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

What it’s about…

Sunday Merkwood is a Mistletoe. She’s been fending off advances from Jamie for two years now.

Jamie Tepes is a Dracula. He’s determined that Sunday is going to be his and he’s got eternity to be patient.

They play a game of cards. The winner gets things their way. And Jamie has a full house! His choice of prize is a date that includes dinner at Sunday’s house and a movie at his house.

History tells us that Draculas used to massacre Mistletoes. Sunday’s parents are very traditional Mistletoes. They also have information to reveal to Sunday that will effect her future and Jamie’s plans with her.

How will Sunday and Jamie overcome this startling change?

Technical Tidbits…

The cover I had was this one you see here to the right. The alternate one you see above is the one I actually prefer. It is so much more artistic and actually relates to the story. Unfortunately it has not mistletoe on it. Again, a mistletoe title without the plant. Hhmmm. I hope book two gets a new cover before it gets published! Something more like the one above would be awesome!

The story line was very interesting. I really enjoyed the way the author handled it.

The characters were really great. They had wonderful personalities, even the disagreeable ones were great! Not pleasant, but they were done really well. To the point that you wanted to say something to the yourself about the way they were acting and what they were saying.

The pace was just fine. It was fairly fast but given the 51 page limit, that was needed to get everything in. It worked well with what Ms. Kitt included in this first book of the series.

The tension was right there from beginning to end. Sometimes you could hear it screeching in your ears, like at dinner with the Mistletoes, but it was mostly tolerable.

The writing quality is really up there. Ms. Kitt has had me read and review a couple of her novellas in series recently and I have enjoyed them all. Though her work wasn’t at first glance in my genre, I find that her work is really fun and always entertaining. She pulls me in and keeps my attention until the end so that I always want more. So this is what I want next from Ms. Kitt. I want a full novel. I want something that I can curl up and read on a long snowy day.

And this is where you STOP if you don’t want to see any SPOILERS

The good, the bad, and the ugly…and how much it lit up my life… ✰✰✰✰✰

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It kept me engaged from cover to cover! The flirting between the two of them at the club where Sunday was waitressing and Jamie was hanging out was fun and led to that game of cards that ended with dinner with Sunday’s parents.

Sunday’s personality was perfect for a young woman her age. She’s still a virgin and rather conservative. Yet, here’s this rather hunky young man who’s been making advances to her for two years. In a darkened club where it’s just the two of them and she can experiment just a bit. So she plays this game of cards with him. She makes things rather suggestive by sitting on the table and putting the cards between her legs, but acts innocent about it. So, when Jamie wins, he gets to make his prize up. Dinner at her house and a movie at his house. She’s seems fine with that, but I don’t understand why she would be so calm and casual about it. She had to know her mother, and especially her father would be upset about his coming to dinner. And I had to wonder why Jamie would choose such a prize, too. For a first date, he had to know that this would be an awkward situation. Why not do something with less stress for a first date?

And it was stressful. Not only did her parents not approve of his being there, but they had a whopper of a conversation stopper to share with the two young ones. An arranged marriage that has a magical hook is quite the thing to spring on someone, especially that way. In front of someone who’s not family. I would think that would be a private thing and one she would have known since she was a child. But this did make a good story addition and, of course, adds greatly to the next book.

Highly Recommended

Mistletoe Black

Dracula’s Mistletoe, #2

R. Kitt

Self-Pub, Oct 2017

Ebook, 66 Pages

Only available in Digital Format

Genre(s) Paranormal Romance

Source Author

Other books in this series

Mistletoe Red #1

My Disclaimer:

I was provided a complimentary copy of this book. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.

~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

What it’s about…

Sunday Merkwood and Jamie Tepes are breaking tradition by continuing with their relationship against her parents’ wishes. Sunday has an arranged marriage bond that has kicked in since her 19th birthday that’s causing some complications. Communications sometimes become crossed, so Sunday wants to make things clear between she and Jamie by becoming a Dracula.

Jamie’s house locks down at midnight, so there can be no interruptions. What could go wrong? Well, almost everything…

Technical Tidbits…

The cover is not to my liking. I like that it’s Cade’s mistletoe. But I don’t like all that red. Use the mistletoe, but with something more artistic like the previous cover at the top.

The story line is very good. It’s very different given the subject matter and her characters. I really love this little world that R. Kitt has carved out for herself. So unique and entertaining.

The characters were really great. They had wonderful personalities, even the disagreeable ones were great! Not pleasant, but they were done really well. To the point that you wanted to say something to the yourself about the way they were acting and what they were saying.

The pace is a bit choppy in this one. Sometimes it feels like you’re going fast-forward and sometimes it’s a much slower pace.

The tension is always there, though. When you start out in the bed of a guy who’s in an arranged marriage contract with the girlfriend of a Dracula and he has a lovely blonde in his bed…tension anyone?

The writing quality is really up there. Ms. Kitt has had me read and review a couple of her novellas in series recently and I have enjoyed them all. Though her work wasn’t at first glance in my genre, I find that her work is really fun and always entertaining. She pulls me in and keeps my attention until the end so that I always want more. So this is what I want next from Ms. Kitt. I want a full novel. I want something that I can curl up and read on a long snowy day.

And this is where you STOP if you don’t want to see any SPOILERS

The good, the bad, and the ugly…and how much it lit up my life… ✰✰✰✰

This book was a bit confusing for me. It seemed like there were times that I wasn’t really sure who was doing the talking at time or what was happening to who. I find it too easy to lose tract of that name at the beginning of each chapter and who’s doing the talking or thinking.

The scene is set with just the two of them in the castle and no on expected back for a full day. They’ve talked it all out and they are all ready to go. Sunday has all her mental barriers up. They agree they want Sunday to get pregnant as well as go through the change. But the change to a Dracula is painful. You have to bleed out. You have to die.

Then Sunday meets Millan in the Catacomb Prison, one of two Dracula prisons. Sunday tells Millan about waking from her change and killing both of the young men in her life, Radian and Jamie. Radian had sensed her pain and come to her before the house locked down at midnight. Her black “mistletoes were falling to the floor like a funeral”. She hadn’t told Radian that she was going to let Jamie change her. For once, in these two years, she had been thinking only of Jamie.

Whatever had happened in that blood fest, caused Radian to awaken as a Dracula. And when Jamie finally awoke he would have nothing to do with Sunday. He told Radian he could have her, to get her out of the house. But the plan for a pregnancy didn’t go astray. Sunday was a Dracula and a mother of a cute little boy, named Cade. And Cade is drinking blood like any good little Dracula. Finally, on a weekend visit with his Dad, he produces his first mistletoe, with purple berries! And he feeds them to his father. What effect will purple mistletoe berries have on Jamie’s poisoned system? Whatever it is, he goes straight for Sunday.

Recommended

1633 wc

Posted in book review

Devil Under the Mistletoe

Holidays Are Hell, #1

Sam Cheevers

Electric Prose Publications, Dec 2015

Ebook, 72 Pages

Only available in Digital Format

Genre(s) Paranormal Romance, Holiday, Christmas

Source purchased at current price

Other books in this series

Devil May Care, Esther Egg Hunt, Trick or Devil

My Disclaimer:

I purchased a copy of this book at the current price. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.

~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

What it’s about…

The last thing Amanda Wright remembers is having a drink with a co-worker during the office Christmas party. So how did she end up here in Hell accused of killing an old man while driving her car? And why is this handsome, but irritating demon trying to help her escape her death-long sentence in Hell?

Damian Noire is supposed to be on vacation at the boiling sea. But the assembly came up with a task for him two minutes before his shift was over. So here he is trying to figure out how this virgin ended up in Hell when she has never done anything wrong. This is so not his job and he will pay for this when the assembly finds out.

Will Damian be able to gather enough evidence before he has to have Amanda in front of the assembly? Will the assembly accept all the evidence and send Amanda to Heaven where she belongs? Will Damian survive losing Amanda when she goes to Heaven?

Amanda has a card up her sleeve and a connection with a guy in white that may change things before the end.

Technical Tidbits…

The cover is colorful and Christmas-y alright. The hunk is really scruffy as you would expect a demon to be, and he is hunk-y. What is it with these books with mistletoe in the title but not on the cover? There should be some mistletoe there somewhere. Oh well…

The story line is great! It’s fun and the subject is unusual.

The characters are not too deep, but I wouldn’t expect to get too deep in a book such as this. We got what we needed to understand the characters and stay with them through the story.

The pace was fast. Really fast, but it suited the story really well. Everything was happening on a fast-forward type schedule trying to get all the evidence before they had to be in front of the assembly.

The tension was incredible. Once you picked up on Amanda’s confusion at the accident scene and then got into the argument between the angel and demon, it was tense from there on out. No let up until the end when Damion finally got his vacation at the boiling sea.

And this is where you STOP if you don’t want to see any SPOILERS

The good, the bad, and the ugly…and how much it lit up my life… ✰✰✰✰⭒

This was super fun! Damion is disgruntled about missing out on his vacation, so he’s not in the best mood when he takes on this assignment. And when he gets topside and sees Paul, an angel, trying to get Amanda to go to Heaven, he’s not too happy either. Well, except he’s in the mood for a fight. But once he’s gotten a good look at Amanda he’s in a much better mood. She’s gorgeous, of course! And she’s so confused about what’s going on. She’s still not fully cognizant of the fact that she’s dead. She doesn’t understand about the accident. She only remembers being at the party with the office workers. She doesn’t know how she got here. So Damian has to explain what’s going on. Then he starts reading the file and listening in on things and taking a really deep look into her and things don’t add up.

Damian takes Amanda back to the office party and they listen in on what people are saying and it’s not good. Everyone is making comments about her and Paul and how she’s going to hate herself in the morning. Also how it was so not like her to do that. People were a bit worried about her for leaving with him because of his reputation with women. Amanda was puzzled about what they could be talking about. She couldn’t imagine that she and Roger could possibly be going home together to do anything like what they were referring to. Roger could only have been giving her a ride because she was too tipsy to drive. But that didn’t make sense with her accident. And why had she been crying? Roger had always been so polite and nice to her. This is one naive woman! It’s one thing to be a virgin in your 20s or even 30s, but to be so innocent that you can’t even imagine that someone would try to take advantage of you is dangerous!

This virgin is running around with a hunky demon! He’s perfectly willing to change her status! And when they get to Amanda’s apartment so that Damian can absorb the vibes of her life, Amanda decides that this is her last chance to change her status before she goes to Hell for what she did. She’s still convinced she killed the old man in the accident. So she asks Damian to make love to her! There goes her status! And, of course, Damian is more than happy to help her with that.

Then, after she’s had her status changed, and there’s no going back. Then they go to the morgue and find out the truth of the accident. The drugging. The heart attack. No fault. They stop off at the boiling sea to mull over the information and try to put everything into perspective. And that’s when the assembly loses its patience with Damian and demands their presence.

This is a fun and funny read. Damian and Amanda find humor in things and find a way to have fun together during their hunt for evidence to clear Amanda. And, of course, there is their time spent in Amanda’s apartment changing her status. Damian thoroughly enjoyed that, as did Amanda! That’s what made her change things for the ending. She and Damian were well matched. It’s a great Christmas read.

Recommended

1058 wc

Posted in book review

Mistletoe Cottage

A Harmony Harbor Novel, #1

Debbie Mason

Forever, Oct 2016

Ebook, 284 Pages

Also available in paperback, audiobook, and audio CD

Genre(s) Contemporary Romance, Hometown Romance, Firefighter Romance, Christmas, Holidays, Ghost

Source purchased at the current price

Other books in this series

Starlight Bridge, Primrose Lane, Sugarplum Way, Driftwood Cove

My Disclaimer:

I purchased a copy of this book at the current price. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.

~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

What it’s about…

Sophie DiRossi was the “bad girl” who got pregnant by one of the boys from the manor when she was young and left town. She and her daughter are back in town and Sophie’s working at the manor again. Her daughter, Mia, was traumatized in a fire and doesn’t speak. Sophie’s got secrets she’s protecting with her life.

Liam Gallagher is a son of the manor, a firefighter, who’s taking a break after a traumatic fire that caused the death of a friend. He can’t seem to get past the trauma of the fire, but he doesn’t want anyone to know. He was once in love with Sophie DiRossi when they were younger.

Colleen Gallagher, the family matriarch, dies at the age of 104. She has been a strong hand on the helm for so many years. She has been the keeper of the secrets as well. In fact she wrote all the secrets down in a book, but she can’t remember where she put it. But everyone wants to find that book before someone else does so that their secret doesn’t get out. Because Colleen knew everyone’s secrets.

Can Sophie and Liam work out their own secrets before someone causes any more harm? Can they admit what everyone else already knows about them? Can Mia speak up in time?

Technical Tidbits…

The cover is beautiful with all its rich color and Christmas theme. The red boots with snowflakes are right out of the book, too! Nicely done and not overdone!

The story line is a familiar one with the young woman with child returning to town and meeting her childhood love. They both have to deal with all the secrets that a small town has as well as the secrets they each have before they can come together and be a happy couple.

The characters were outrageous! These people were so real that you felt like you knew them from somewhere. Colleen as the matriarch was familiar as she went through trying to do the best for each of her family members. She was a delightful character. The two primary characters, Sophie and Liam were so well written, too. They were exactly what they should be. Two young people caught in a situation not quite of their own making. They each had their own secret to reveal and pain to deal with before they could come close enough to really fall in love. And Mia! Wow, what a dynamite little character she was even when she wasn’t speaking. She was a strong presence and made herself felt in every situation perhaps especially because of her silence.

The pace was smooth and brisk. There was no choppiness here. You moved from one event to another rapidly, but the transitions were fluid.

The tension, perhaps due to the smoothness of the transitions, built nicely. A slow, steady building of pressure as events unfolded.

The writing quality is wonderful. Ms. Mason has a style of writing that invites you in and takes you for a ride. She writes wonderful dialog as well as colorful description. And yet, her action scenes make you feel that you are part of the action, too. No stilted conversation here. Everything sounds just like you would expect it to really sound if someone were speaking. You can hear the accents of the butler greeting a guest compared to the tones of the Italian grandmother scolding her adult grandson. She can create a playful character and a depressed character just with the way she describes them and makes them speak. You can actually feel the emotion of the character.

And this is where you STOP if you don’t want to see any SPOILERS

The good, the bad, and the ugly…and how much it lit up my life… ✰✰✰✰✰

I already said so much up above, is there more to say here? Well, let’s see what my notes say. There’s Colleen Gallagher, the matriarch of the family. She’s so cool! She has managed her family for her whole life, 104 years. Now she has a heart attach and dies. But she resists going to heaven, so she ends up haunting the family while they work out who’s going to be in charge now. Kitty is the grandmother, but she has her issues and not everyone would follow Kitty. Kitty wants to be in charge at the manor and bring it back to its former splendor. Kitty’s ideas haven’t been successful so far. A number of the grandchildren, Liam included feel that the manor should be sold and the money divided throughout the family. They see the manor as a drain on the family resources and not something that they want to be involved in. Their lives aren’t focused on Greystone Manor. Liam, for instance, is a firefighter up in Boston. He’s only at home currently resting after the traumatic incident of his buddy’s death. Liam’s still having flashbacks, which is his secret. Or so he thinks. His father, Colin, is the local fire chief. And his best friend, Marco DiRossi, works as a firefighter under his father’s command. They both recognize what’s going on with Liam. But for Liam, the manor doesn’t play a large part in his current future the way he sees it. At least not until he reconnects with Sophie.

But even the town isn’t necessarily all of one mind about the manor. The mayor and a real estate agent seem to be in cahoots with a developer who wants to buy up the manor and tear it down to built condominiums there or something. The retailers are all for the manor getting itself pulled together and doing business as it has in the past or as Sophie and her team foresee, as a location for weddings and other special events. With that solution, everyone wins because the manor would use the unique local retailers as their resources and everyone would prosper.

I always love a book that has a cat in it that plays a special role. Simon is a black cat with blue eyes. He was with Colleen when she died. And he keeps her company on her haunts after she dies and does small things for her. He also likes Mia, who seems to see Colleen, also.

Michael Gallagher is Liam’s cousin. He’s the young man that Sophie had been seeing before she left town seven years ago. Now, he’s engaged to Bethany and it’s their wedding that’s supposed to save the manor by providing some great press! So what does he do at the rehearsal party? He stands up to give his speech and tells them all, Bethany included, that he no longer wants to be a Senator or a lawyer even, but that he has applied to the Police Academy. His future mother-in-law is the first one to react with the vitriol she is famous for. Then Bethany seems to finally wake up and realizes what he’s said. She whips off her engagement ring and flings it at him with her by now famous vitriol. He makes a comment about it’s a good thing he found this out before they got married and had kids. And, of course, her comment is, “What kids?” And with that, the wedding is off for Michael and Bethany. But never fear, there’s always someone willing to step into the spotlight. This was the only wrong note for me. Liam goes down on one knee and proposes to Sophie and they get married in Michael and Bethany’s place. Not that we get to go to the wedding, but I just thought it was a bit hokey. Oh well. I suppose it had to happen.

This book left us with some questions. Who is Dana? Through the whole story she’s an older woman who changes wigs and such to change her appearance. She’s obviously been around the upper crust as she’s very comfortable with them and they don’t ruffle her at all. She has a wonderful knack for decorating beautiful homes and planning events. And she has an extensive wardrobe with beautiful clothes. So, who is Dana?

What is Julia’s secret? Julia wins Mistletoe Cottage in the drawing. Simon put his paw prints all over he tickets when she was filling them out. Then Mia made sure she got one of those tickets at the drawing so that Julia won. Then Julia read the tag on the key that said “to Mia” and knew it was from Santa. Since she’s a Santa’s Helper and has taken the pledge, she has to give the cottage to Mia. She and Mia whisper back and forth a bit and Julia leaves. But Colleen knows that Julia has a secret that has to be revealed. What is her secret and why does it have to be revealed? What does it have to do with her shop Book and Beans?

And last of all, where is Colleen’s book? In her video message to the Widow’s Club, she’s just about to tell them where her memoirs are when she leans against the TV for support and falls into it instead. That destroys the video and no one knows where the book is. They do know what it looks like because she was holding it in her hand in the video before it went all static. But Colleen knew everyone’s secrets. And everyone has a secret. So, now everyone wants to find that book so that they can hide their secret before it gets out. So, someone has it, but who? And what will they do with all those secrets?

Highly Recommended

1699 wc

Posted in book review

Must Love Mistletoe

Holiday Duet Series, #2

Christie Ridgway

Self-Pub, Sep 2011

Kindle, 383 Pages

Also available in paperback

Genre(s) Christmas, Holidays, Contemporary Romance, Hometown Romance

Source purchased at current price

Other books in this series

Not Another New Year’s #2

My Disclaimer:

I purchased a copy of this book at the current price. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.

~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

What it’s about…

Bailey Sullivan had left home after high school hoping never to have to come back. Now she was back in town to help out her folks with the family business, The Perfect Christmas. For a woman who has always hated Christmas, this couldn’t be worse. Or could it?

Mrs. Jacobson, next door to her folks, has a grandson Bailey knew when she was growing up. He was a bad boy type and she couldn’t resist him then. He’s staying with his grandmother while she recovers from an illness. It appears he hasn’t forgotten any of their time together and might like to spend more time together. Can she resist him now?

Two battered people holding their secrets tightly tucked away so no one will see. Especially not each other. Will these two damaged lovers be able to uncover all the secrets and find the love they once shared?

Technical Tidbits…

The cover is very attractive with a nice saturation of color and a cute couple. You can tell there’s heat between the couple, too. But I’d like to see some mistletoe there somewhere.

The storyline is great. The golden girl and the bad boy are childhood sweethearts. She takes off before things can go bad, advised by her father’s heartfelt advise. “Get out before things get ugly.” So she goes to college and law school and runs a law office that specializes in family law. And she never visits home. The bad boy has gotten his GED, gone to college, and now works for the Secret Service. They’re on equal footing now. And they still have feelings for each other. Those feeling keep getting in the way as things work out leading up until Christmas. And neither one can say “I love you” until all the secrets have been revealed.

The characters are well explained and seem to be nicely developed. The two main characters are totally developed to the point that you can almost think along with them.

The pace in the beginning almost caused me to give up on this book with its back and forth between the present and what she remembered from their shared past. Once it picked up and things stayed in the present, then it was much better.

The tension was a nice easy pull from the beginning with a couple of sharper tugs towards the end.

And this is where you STOP if you don’t want to see any SPOILERS

The good, the bad, and the ugly…and how much it lit up my life… ✰✰✰✰⭒

If you have a title like Must Love Mistletoe, then why isn’t there some mistletoe on your cover especially when you have a young couple in a clench on there? It would have been just fine to put a small sprig of mistletoe in one upper corner or at the top center above the couple. Or put a bunch of it down below the whole thing. But no mistletoe!

There was a nice balance to this book between regular scenes and love scenes. And the love scenes were done very well. I had to laugh at the one between Tracy and Dan. She was so surprised at herself afterwards. And so pleased, too! It’s great to see an older woman who has thought herself totally unwanted and beyond all that suddenly realize that she is still a sexual being. Kudos to Ms. Ridgway for writing the role for the mother this way.

I always love when the secrets start getting unwrapped. This time was no exception. With Finn, it was all that angst from the assassination attempt he’d been involved in when the young, female agent had been killed and he had been injured. He felt that somehow he should have known she would react that way because she was in love with him. That somehow he should have been able to prevent her death. He also kept trying to convince himself that he didn’t love Bailey anymore because he knew she would leave on the 25th and there was no point in carry a torch for her. As hard as he tried with that one, he just had to accept it in the end that he loved her and it was a permanent situation.

Bailey’s secret went much deeper than anyone’s. It was one that everyone else really felt they already knew. But Bailey had denied it to herself for so long that she couldn’t very well admit to it now. What she really hated was not Christmas, but December the 26th. The day after Christmas when she had to go into the store, The Perfect Christmas, and see what was left after the whole Christmas rush. The broken things. The unpopular things. The beginning of the down-time. And knowing that this was her life. Her family business. This was the ugliness that her father seemed to have warned her about in her mind. It was what she was running away from as much as anything else. That and deep emotional attachments. Something her father really was not qualified to advise her on, he being the one to cheat and leave. But that saying had become her mantra. “Get out before things turn ugly”.

So here she is on December the 26th and she has a burned down store and a big decision to make now that her secret is out. What do you think she’ll do? Will she get back in her car and continue on her merry way to her law firm? Or, will she stay in Coronado and with Finn rebuild The Perfect Christmas and make it her own? Who know?

Recommended

1028 wc

Posted in book review

Christmas at the Contraband Cafe

A Year in Rum Cove, Winter

Liberty Bell & Scarlet Brodie

My Cup of Tea Press, Oct 2016

Kindle, 149 Pages

Available only in Digital format

Genre(s) Contemporary Romance, Christmas, Holiday

Source purchased at current price

Other books in this series: None at this time

My Disclaimer:

I purchased a copy of this book at the current price. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.

~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

What it’s about…

Chloe Charlesworth has a degree in fashion journalism and wants to put it to good use. She’s at the end of a grueling internship and the decision will be handed down today. Suddenly, she finds herself accused of theft of the boss’ dry cleaning and fired on the spot.

Out of a job, and with no job, out of a place to live, Chloe agrees to go check on her Aunt Fenella before looking for another fashion journalism job. She can’t seem to convince anyone she’s only stopping in to check on Aunt Fenella and get back to the city to look for another job. And she still hasn’t heard anything from her boyfriend, Marcus about moving in with him while she looks for a job.

Lottie is holding down the fort right now for Aunt Fenella, but Lottie needs to be writing papers for her college classes so she can get her law degree. Lottie cheerfully shows Chloe how to do things and Chloe gradually gets the hang of it all after some mistakes. Some mistakes are worse than others and really upset the local vet, Luke. He just happens to be Lottie’s brother, too. But Chloe means well and Lottie seems to understand her and points her in the right direction.

The townsfolk seem to like her. And Lottie really likes her. Aunt Fenella’s pulling for her. But can she change the young vet’s opinion of her? Or has she already?

Technical Tidbits…

The cover wasn’t terribly eye-catching with that water-color type coloring to it. The drawing underneath did relate to the story in a way. But I really wasn’t impressed with the cover at all. It was not why I bought the book this time.

The storyline was pretty good. City girl loses it all and goes off to help sick relative. Ends up staying longer than expected and liking it. Falls in love with local boy.

The characters were good. Of course, we got to know Chloe really well as we spent so much time with her, especially in the beginning. Lottie was explained to us by a lot of people. Mom and Aunt Fenella were just caricatures, but that’s all we needed. Luke was who he seemed to be and who Lottie explained him to be. If this were a more serious type novel I would expect more depth to their characters, but for this story, this was fine. The rest of the folks were characters we could pick up on easily from something they did or said or a comment someone made, so that you had a brief shot of them.

The pace was steady and at times brisk. It was well-done.

The tension was built up over each incident and allowed to drop down a bit afterward. It really tapered off at the end for a quiet ending.

The writing quality was good. I was wondering about a book written by two people whether or not you could actually tell it had two authors. How do they do that? Do they actually write different parts of it? Or is it more a brainstorming sort of thing and then one actually does the writing? I don’t know about actual writing, but I think you can sense two different brains in the story. A little bit of “push-n-pull” in parts of it. I think that may be why I felt the tension didn’t quite hold up throughout.

And this is where you STOP if you don’t want to see any SPOILERS

The good, the bad, and the ugly…and how much it lit up my life… ✰✰✰✰

I really liked this book and felt very comfortable, almost familiar with it. Then I was reading the reviews on Amazon and discovered this review by Gordon A. Long that clarified all of that for me. Here is a small part of his review.

“If you’re a fan of English Sitcoms like Doc Martin and Heartbeat, you’re going to like this one: definitely written with a TV contract in mind. Picture a small, close-knit village in Yorkshire. Picture a wannabe fashion journalist from London whose life is falling to pieces, suddenly transferred there by a series of coincidental events.

Does she fit in? Of course not. Does she meet a man she finds obnoxious? Of course she does. Do circumstances keep forcing her to prolong her stay? Of course. You know the format.

What makes this story work is the characterization. The village is filled with individuals, coexisting with all the up, down and completely sideways relationships of people in small towns everywhere. “

On Amazon: Gordon A. Long Dec 2016

He’s quite right, too. This story fits that format perfectly. Come to think of it, a lot of stories do. The ones that have someone coming back to their home town or someone relocating to get away from a disaster and start over. The Cowboy Firefighter story from yesterday could fit into that format easily. I guess it’s a format or formula that we see a lot of. We probably see a lot of it because it works so well, too!

Well, it worked well for these two authors. This book is entertaining and you get hooked on the characters and care about them. I could see this town becoming part of a series and getting to know many of the “regulars”.

Recommended

994 wc

Posted in book review

A Cowboy Firefighter for Christmas

Smokin’ Hot Cowboys, #1

Kim Redford

Sourcebooks Casablanca, Oct 2015

Kindle, 384 Pages

Also available in hardcover, paperback, audiobook

Genre(s) Holiday, Christmas, Cowboy Romance

Source purchased at current price

Other books in this series

Blazing Hot Cowboy #2, A Very Cowboy Christmas #3

My Disclaimer:

I purchased a copy of this book at the current price. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.

~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

What it’s about…

Misty Reynolds is a trouble-shooter representing Texas Timber and she’s come to town to find out why the company’s Christmas tree farm burned. She’s trying to keep her investigation quiet. Misty’s hoping to get her investigation done and avoid much ado about Christmas.

Trey Duval is the rancher across the road from the tree farm and he thinks Texas Timber is behind his problems. They’ve been trying to buy his place and he’s not budging. Trey’s also a volunteer firefighter and really involved in his town. Right now, he and his town are really involved in Christmas.

Sparks fly between more than pine trees in Wildcat Bluff, Texas and that’s before Misty has even checked into her B&B. Can these two solve the mystery of the fires before they both go up in flames?

Technical Tidbits…

The cover just doesn’t appeal to me. The cowboy looks like he’s ready to go out of the shoot at a rodeo rather than fight a fire. He’s a great looking guy, but the dirt looks like it was applied rather than acquired, especially since his undershirt is pristine white. The colors are good, though. They do catch the eye.

The storyline is really good. Start out with the conflict, a professional situation basically. Deal with her personal crisis. Then solve the mystery. It worked out well.

The characters were great. Pretty much, everybody in town was introduced and some background given. The author set the town up to be the setting for a series. I don’t know if her series takes place here or not, but she sure did a good job of prepping for it if it is. The two main characters, of course, had personality and quirks to spare. The secondary characters did more than just walk on and off stage, though. You just know if you come back to Wildcat Bluff, Hedy will still be there. She’ll either be at the firehouse or at her shop, Adelia’s. She has such pretty things in Adelia’s. And going next door into Morning Glory’s place is like a step back in time for those who really enjoyed the 60s. And be sure to stop at the Chuckwagon Cafe for some chili made by Slade. Stay and flirt awhile with the handsome cowboy. For some real hospitality, but sure to stay at Twin Oaks Bed and Breakfast. It’s Ruby’s place and she makes you welcome enough you just may not want to leave.

The pace was fast. From the time Trey flagged her down at the first fire until the last Christmas gift is opened, things never stop. The fires and the kisses are hot!

The tension isn’t too high in this one because you can guess who the bad guys are right from their introduction. They are the only unpleasant people in the whole town. And as evidence is found at fire sights, they are the obvious ones that fit. You just sort of go along with the story having fun with Trey and Misty.

And this is where you STOP if you don’t want to see any SPOILERS

The good, the bad, and the ugly…and how much it lit up my life… ✰✰✰✰

Trey and Misty were a really fun couple. Once they got comfortable with each other they do a lot of joking and teasing that keeps things upbeat and fun. When Misty meets her first cow, it really gets funny. She takes it well, too. She’s not a whiner. She jokes right back once she realizes that the cows aren’t going to hurt her and that Trey is teasing. The only conversation that I found to be a bit stilted was the one between the two of them when they talked about her family’s house fire. I don’t know if it was the subject or the fact that it was the first real conversation between them, but it just didn’t work well. I wanted the author to go back and rework it to make it more realistic.

Another thing Ms. Redford is really good at is descriptions. She adds in descriptions of things that are very detailed without adding all the details. I read it and still am not sure how she did it. But I didn’t realize she did it until after I was done with a couple of those sections. She described the whole downtown decorated for Christmas and made you see all the details without really describing it all. She seemed to create bits and pieces of what it was and your mind took it from there. Sort of like telling your mind this is what it starts like, you take it from here. Whatever it was, it worked really well. I could see all the Christmas decorations all over town!

I liked Misty’s relationship with her fellow workers. She and her boss had a couple of really great phone calls while she was working the investigation. It was very evident that they trusted each other to do their part of the job. Plus they had a very good friendship on top of their working relationship. I really liked her job, too. What an awesome job for a young gal!

I’d love to visit Wildcat Bluff. A town that celebrates their cats. And they are polydactyl cats, too! Love cats with that extra toe! They always seem to be really gentle cats. Lovers rather than fighters.

Recommended

998 wc

Posted in book review

Christmas in London

Anita Hughes

St. Martin’s Griffin, Oct 2017

Kindle, 288 Pages

Also available in paperback

Genre(s) Christmas, Contemporary Romance, Women’s Lit

Source Author’s rep

Netgalley

Other books by this author

Christmas in Paris, White Sand, Blue Skies, Emerald Coast, Santorini Sunsets

My Disclaimer:

I was provided a complimentary copy of this book. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.

~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

What it’s about…

Louisa bakes cinnamon rolls as she closes down the bakery at night. But she forgot to change the sign to CLOSED and in walks a determined customer. Noah is a prop director for a baking show and he needs some pastries for the show…NOW. Cameras can’t roll without something yummy to focus on.

Now, Noah needs a pastry chef. And he already knows Louisa makes the best cinnamon rolls in the world. So he tells her to pack her bags and meet him at the airport for a week in London to do the Christmas show. Trying to plan for every possible crisis, Louisa packs her bags and heads for the airport.

While Louisa’s mind is firmly focused on the food event, the men seem to have Louisa on their minds. Noah has warned her about the dangers, but can’t seem to avoid them himself. Digby is putting on a great act for her, but Noah is sure he’s up to some very dirty tricks.

And now Kate is getting into the swing of the season. They broke each other’s hearts all those years ago. Can Trevor and Kate get it right this time around or will Trevor shy away again? Will he give Kate a chance to make her stance clear?

Let the magic of London dressed in its Christmas best put you in the mood for the season and love when you read this contemporary holiday romance!

Technical Tidbits…

The cover is lovely and certainly catches the eye in a cool and serene Christmas scene.

The storyline is wonderful. The two couples trying to work out their problems and enjoy their holiday in London. But I had the strangest feeling very early on that I had read it before. Could it have been published somewhere else before?

The characters were quirky and fun and felt like real people we got to know and care about. You wanted to tell Louisa what a rat Digby was right from the beginning. You wanted to give Trevor a shake and tell him to put a little more steel into that spine of his.

The pace was really good. It was more than a stroll, but less than a brisk walk.

The tension kept building, like a wave, ever higher. Excellent job.

And this is where you STOP if you don’t want to see any SPOILERS

The good, the bad, and the ugly…and how much it lit up my life… ✰✰✰✰✰

I was so excited to get the invitation to read this book. I’ve loved all of Anita’s books that I have read. So, I was looking forward to this one, too. And I wasn’t disappointed, either. Ms. Hughes’ writing was her usual sterling quality with lots of local-color which in this case is London done up for Christmas. My head was full of Christmas carols, flickering candles, red bows on green wreaths, starry skies, and such.

And both relationships went back and forth quite a bit. Louisa and Noah were so cute. She was so focused on baking, that she almost missed the fact that Noah was interested in her as a woman. That’s what almost got her in trouble with Digby. She didn’t think that he was after her as a woman until it was almost too late. Good thing Digby turned out to be a sloppy drunk and she could pour him into a bottle and leave him in a corner upstairs until the calvary showed up.

With Kate and Trevor, it was quite different because of their shared background. At first, Kate simply didn’t want to spend any time with him, but couldn’t seem to help herself. Then she relaxed and started to enjoy herself a little bit. Drumroll, please. Then, of course, they run into too much shared history and he spoils things. Trevor takes off without allowing Kate to say anything by way of explanation or defense. Not that she’d done anything wrong. What happened had been done to her without her permission. Trevor held her accountable unfairly. She gives him one last chance, which is more than I would have done. Each time, he had blamed her without allowing her to defend herself in any way and run without letting her say a word.

Well, everyone ended up HEA and that’s what we want to see. So, mission accomplished.

Recommended

815 wc

Posted in book review

Miss Buncle’s Book

Miss Buncle, #1

D. E. Stevenson (1892 – 1973)

Sourcebooks, Nov 2012, 1934(original)

Kindle, 305 Pages

Also available in hardcover, paperback, audio CD

Genre(s) Women’s Lit

Source purchased at the current price

Other books in this series

Miss Buncle Married, The Two Mrs. Abbotts, The Four Graces

My Disclaimer:

I purchased a copy of this book at the current price. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.

~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

What it’s about…

Miss Barbara Buncle is a spinster living with her once-nanny-then maid, now maid-housekeeper-cook Dorcas in Silverstream. Finances are a bit slim and even though most of her village neighbors consider her a woman of rather slim intelligence, Miss Buncle comes up with a creative way of making some money to help out the budget.

It’s a secret. Dorcas is sworn to keep it, but she has to know about it because she’s the provider of strong coffee for Miss Buncle. You see, Miss Buncle is writing a book and she does her writing at night. She doesn’t have a lot of imagination, so she writes what she knows. More to the point, she writes who she knows. And therein lies the trouble.

When Miss Buncle’s book is accepted and printed, the village of Silverstream is in an uproar over who this “John Smith” could be who knows them all so well…

Technical Tidbits…

The cover is an absolute stunner. This is why I bought the book in the first place! I saw that cover and loved the style, the colors, the artwork. The whole thing appealed to me and drew me in immediately.

The storyline is wonderful and absolutely original as far as I know. I’ve never read one quite like it. I’m sure there are about a dozen of you who can name a book with this same storyline right now, but I’ve never run into one before.

The characters are the book. D. E. Stevenson wrote this book about Miss Buncle writing a book about her fellow villagers, so it’s all about its characters. Each character is introduced and then we learn more and more about them from their fellow villagers and from their own actions and statements. It’s incredible!

The pace is variable and right on the ball. There are times when you feel like you’re just strolling through the village and then there are times you feel you have just run the length of the village twice without stopping. But then there are times to take tea and sit and listen to the gossip – that’s called doing research for the next book. And there are times to get the packers here and gone and the sign on the fence – that’s called leaving town before the hanging committee comes calling.

The tension is unstoppable once it starts to build. At first, it’s just a spinster fussing over her finances. But once the book hits the shelves, it’s a whole lot more than fussing.

And this is where you STOP if you don’t want to see any SPOILERS

The good, the bad, and the ugly…and how much it lit up my life… ✰✰✰✰✰

May I please give this book more stars? I want to decorate it all over with stars! I immediately bought the next book to read. I wish it wasn’t coming on to Christmas so I could read it right away! I may have to squeeze it in on a weekend when it’s quiet and I can find some extra reading time. I’m really hoping the whole series is like this. Written back in the early 30s, I didn’t expect this at all. But why? Did I expect poor quality writing? I certainly shouldn’t have. If anything, I probably should have expected a higher standard. And that’s what is in this book. The writing is lovely! No missed words or extra words or incorrect usage. The style is solid and so well-done, it’s a real pleasure to read. I read everything in e-book these days, I’m sure you’ve heard me remark. But this one makes me want to have it in hardcover.

This was a really fun read because of the word association Miss Buncle used to change names when she wrote her book. But the poor dear was always worried that she would be found out or wanting to confess or take credit. And when those idiot villagers under Mrs. Featherstone-Hogg actually kidnapped the twins and held them for the ransom of Sarah’s signature because they had decided she had written the book, she was ready to shout it from the pulpit in the church! Poor Sarah and poor Barbara. But Barbara couldn’t even make Sarah believe her at that point. People really didn’t give her enough credit. Even her only real friend, Sarah.

Some of the villagers were absolute horrors. Like that Vivian Greensleeves. She dumped Henry Carter because she decided the new vicar wore expensive clothing and must be well off. So she starts working on him to bring him to heel. In the meantime, unbeknownst to anyone but Mr. Hathaway’s (new vicar) uncle, the new vicar has turned over all his wealth and earthly goods to his Uncle Mike for the term of one year to see if he can live on the minute stipend he will be earning in Silverstream. He is, in essence, poor for one year. When Vivian finds out he’s poor, she dumps him. Lucky for him that Sally has recently started taking lessons from him. They find they have so much in common that they are curious about. They choose the topics and Mr. Hathaway gets them books to study from. And towards the end, there is a faint sound of wedding bells in the background. Lucky Sally! She’s such a smart and sensible girl. Barbara was quite fond of her.

Some of Miss Buncle’s word association that I so liked and that was probably what made people start paying attention…

Silverstream became Copperfield … Mrs. Featherstone-Hogg became Mrs. Horsley Downs … Mrs. Carter into Mrs. Farmer … Dr. Walker into Dr. Rider… Colonel Weatherhead became Major Waterfoot … Dorothea Bold was Mrs. Mildmay … Mr. Fortnum was Mr. Mason … Miss King was Miss Earle and Miss Pretty became Miss Darling. Perhaps had Barbara used a bit more imagination her neighbors might not have realized the people’s names had been changed. They may not have gone looking any further. But the names are so obvious for some of them that when you add characteristics and quirks that are just like them, people are bound to notice.

Well, when the hanging committee came knocking on the door, Miss Buncle was nowhere to be found and her house was on the market. No one had any idea who Mrs. Abbott was who was handling the sale for her.

Highly Recommended

1155 wc

Posted in book review

Fallen Empire

Empire of Dragons Chronicles, #1

K.N. Lee

Captive Quill Press, Nov 2017

Kindle, 156 Pages

Only available in Digital format

Genre(s) YA Fantasy

Source purchased at current price

Other series by this author

The Dragon Born Saga, The Chronicles of Koa, Fallen Gods series, The Eura Chronicles

My Disclaimer:

I purchased a copy of this book at the current price. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.

~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

What it’s about…

Father Marduk is impatiently pacing and Brother Dagan is falling over his words trying to get them out fast enough…” the Stones of Tarth… mage between two red rivers… and the Holy Cleric… a true descendant of the Erani clan… Skal…”

Amalia must run after Thomas is killed by the firedrakes. The whole village is overrun and there’s no help for it. She runs until the water where she hopes she won’t attract the mermaids. But the mermaids are already grabbing at her ankles. She uses her power and they scatter from her. As she climbs onto dry land she’s met by Aros who offers help and swears secrecy about her power. He’s a wolf and supposed to be her enemy, but he hasn’t had his first turning, yet. His pack takes her in and she is safe for a while.

Amalia meets Eris, God of Lost Souls and tells her not to trust Aros. Eris says that someday Aros will forget his promise and tell her secret. Aros meets someone, too.

Kylan is a wolf, but he is more than just a wolf. He is the son of the Alpha of his pack and the next big hunt is his to lead. This will be the hunt to reclaim the pack’s homelands, Kjos. Kylan meets Enit, Goddess of Fate, who gives him the Kiss of Enit Arue to awaken his rune spirit because he’s strong, loyal, and brave. Enit wants Kylan to go find Amalia.

What happens to Aros, Amalia, and Kylan when fate takes a hand?

Technical Tidbits…

The cover is absolutely gorgeous and what drew me to the book initially. However, as beautiful as it is, it’s wrong. Amalia is on the run and is dressed in clothes that have seen better days, practically rags. So, as lovely as she looks here in her armor, it’s all wrong. And that’s a half a star!

The storyline is really great! I loved it. Any story that gets me yelling at a character and telling another one to run or not to trust someone, that’s a good story. It means I’m really involved. Ms. Lee got me involved with Amalia.

The characters were done very well, too. We learn about Amalia from the beginning as it is her story being told. Then we learn about Aros when we meet him. Kylan is introduced very well, too. The only characters we really don’t know that much about are Eris, God of Lost Souls and Enit, Goddess of Fate. We do know they’re sneaky and working to plan.

The pace is good. You move right along. It’s not a flat-out race, but it’s nice and brisk.

The tension is not always so hot. At times it sort of drops you and you feel like you lose your way a bit. Tension should have been higher at the end, but it sort of just stopped, because this is a cliff-hanger.

And this is where you STOP if you don’t want to see any SPOILERS

The good, the bad, and the ugly…and how much it lit up my life… ✰✰✰✰

The cover really is gorgeous. It’s too bad it doesn’t relate more closely to the story. If Amalia were dressed properly for the story this would be outstanding. The dragon is done so well. I love the way the colors make them blend together and create an almost transparent area.

Apparently, Amalia doesn’t know too much about her magic. Her parents seem to have downplayed it as a birthmark on her hands and not ever trained her how to use it other than how to hide it. She still isn’t that great at hiding it, since it keeps slipping out. But then she uses it to scare away the mermaids, so she knows at least how to do something with it. Something she learned by experimenting on her own most likely. There is no mention (yet) of any sort of training. Maybe Kylan can help her with it. That is if he wakes up to the seriousness of their situation now that his father is dead and they are caged.

Kylan’s airheadedness really surprised me since Enit chose him because of his strength, loyalty, and bravery. I just didn’t expect that sort of behavior from him. I thought he would be more levelheaded. I really hope he is up to the tasks ahead of him. Since he’s fated to be with Amalia, that should mean that the two of them are up to whatever task is ahead of them. I’m assuming it’s Father Marduk and his firedrakes that are the task. They seem to be the ones stomping around killing people at will. I don’t know if I’ll be reading the rest of the series. Right now I have books scheduled to read all the way into February. So, we’ll see. I’m trying to get away from YA and stay with more adult lit.

Recommended

922 wc